Ludwigs
Burg
Festival

Gods' Spark in the lockdown

Although culture can also provide comfort in lockdown's dark times, there is little evidence of this in Germany at present. But art is education, there is humanity in art, for some people art is perhaps even a substitute religion. Particularly in times when Western democracies are in crisis, when many people have lost confidence, have become fact-resistant, or are conducting discussions with aggression instead of arguments, it can point to a better way. [This text has been translated electronically.]

If one wants to find out about the constantly changing Corona regulations in the cultural sector at the moment, something stands out: The regulations for cultural institutions can be found in the categories »leisure«, »entertainment« or even »sports«. Going to the theatre is thus - exaggeratedly formulated - equated with going to a club. The Berlin cultural scene, among others, did not want to let this go. Last November, in an open letter to Mayor Michael Müller, it pleaded urgently for the arts to be more than »mere leisure activities«.


When we go to the opera, a concert or the theatre, we are not merely entertained. In the gesture of Count Almaviva, who kneels before his wife at the end of Mozart's opera »Le nozze di Figaro« and asks for forgiveness, we learn what it means to admit one's own mistakes and to express an apology from the heart. When Gretchen utters her monologue »Meine Ruh ist hin« in Goethe's »Faust«, we recognize the consequences of unbalanced love. Art is more than a social pastime; it tells us about people and about being human. Of horrible events as well as of paradisiacal utopias. »Be embraced, millions! This kiss of the whole world!« How beautiful is this Schiller quote at the end of Beethoven's 9th Symphony. In music, the dream becomes reality: we rejoice in being human. Religion, origin, gender - none of that matters. We all feel the highest spark of the gods.


Anyone who has ever had the pleasure of such a cultural experience knows the relevance of art for the world. Art is education, there is humanity in art, for some art may even be substitute religion. It can show a better way, especially in times when Western democracies are in crisis, when many people have lost confidence, have become fact-resistant or conduct discussions with aggression instead of arguments.


Although culture can provide comfort even in gloomy lockdown times, there is little evidence of this in Germany at present. Concert designer Folkert Uhde, a guest at this year's Ludwigsburg Festival, remarks: »The main problem in culture in general is that we are not particularly important to the vast majority of people«. The consequences of this are fatal for those working in the arts. In addition to the already existing fear of the virus, there are thoughts that as a singer you are suddenly a danger to the general public through the emission of aerosols, as Anna Prohaska, soprano at this season's Festival, reports. Even worse are the financial worries and hardships in the industry. Those who are not among the celebrated stars, those who do not have a permanent job or those who are just starting out in their careers are currently being left behind.


Hope and responsibility

But how to deal with this situation? We at the Ludwigsburg Festival would like to follow two principles: Hope and Responsibility. It does not help to talk down the Corona crisis. One has to take the disease as seriously as possible and react responsibly. Nevertheless, people are always successful in the end when they maintain hope and optimism.


As hard as it may seem, Corona can also mean an opportunity. A chance to establish new concert formats and attract new audiences. Entry restrictions force us to stop promoting environmentally damaging concert tours. Chamber music concerts in courtyards or performances in old people's or nursing homes for the isolated at-risk groups allowed art to reach unfamiliar places. Prohaska says that singing on her home balcony helped her get to know her neighborhood better.


The topic of digitalisation has also played an even more important role since Corona. Culture must find answers to this development. Streaming and online formats must be used more. But that also requires the willingness of the artists. For Prohaska, concert streaming is the »worst of both worlds«, since neither the editorial freedom of the studio situation nor the excitement of a live atmosphere in front of an audience is given. All beginnings are certainly difficult. Kaiser Wilhelm II once said: »I believe in the horse. The automobile is a passing phenomenon« - a rash assessment, as we know today.


»New Deal«

In this sense, one should not be afraid of new things even now. Folkert Uhde goes even further and is convinced that culture needs a »New Deal«. This means: more women in leading positions, more sustainability, a radical departure from systematized concert dramaturgy, and the establishment of new formats and works. The first steps in this direction were taken even before Corona, including at the large, established houses - whether through Digital Concert Hall at the Berlin Philharmonie or through programs for dementia patients at the Cologne Opera. And of course we, the Ludwigsburg Festival, had already drawn up our sustainability compass before Corona.


Living sustainability

The current crisis is a great challenge for all of us. Corona has also left its mark on the Ludwigsburg Festival. Planning security is impossible in these times. Many things have not been realised in the desired way. The Resonanzraum, which was to become a place of encounters in 2020, could not come into being as planned.


However, we are not discouraged and are optimistic about the future. We no longer want to function only as an »output-oriented system«, as Philippe Bischof has identified as a basic problem of the cultural sector. We want to show that a programme booklet, for example, also has a more universal value and is not a throwaway product at the end of the season. This is important not only for environmental reasons, but equally to celebrate the work of those who, away from the limelight, do their best every day to advance culture in our country. We want to champion gender equality and encourage more female conductors. We want to find answers to the changes in the digital age and present a new website to our audience. We want art to continue to be experienced live and as a participatory community experience. In short, we want the 17 Sustainable Development Goals to be more than just a vague orientation for us. We want to live them.

We are very pleased to welcome soprano Anna Prohaska and and concert designer Folkert Uhde at this year's Festival 2021 and recommend the following articles and discussions on the subject of Conversations on the topic of »Culture in times of Corona«:


Carolin Emcke (author and publicist) in conversation with Anna Prohaska, Thomas Kufus (film producer) and Stephan Behrmann (dramaturg, theatre scholar, author)


Folkert Uhde (concert designer) about the "New Dealin conversationand in commentary


5 theses by Philippe Bischof (director of the cultural foundation Pro Helvetia) for a better future for the culture industry


Anna Prohaska (Soprano) on singing in the lockdown


Few remaining tickets available for »Anna Prohaska Klaviertrio« on June 23rd + + +  Few remaining tickets available for »Anna Prohaska Klaviertrio« on June 23rd + + +  Few remaining tickets available for »Anna Prohaska Klaviertrio« on June 23rd + + +  Few remaining tickets available for »Anna Prohaska Klaviertrio« on June 23rd + + +  Few remaining tickets available for »Anna Prohaska Klaviertrio« on June 23rd + + +  Few remaining tickets available for »Anna Prohaska Klaviertrio« on June 23rd + + +

Ludwigs
Burg
Festival

Götterfunken im Lockdown

Kultur in Zeiten von Corona

Obgleich die Kultur auch in düsteren Lockdown-Zeiten Trost spenden kann, ist dieser Stellenwert in Deutschland aktuell allerdings wenig zu spüren. Doch Kunst ist Bildung, in Kunst steckt Menschlichkeit, für manche ist Kunst vielleicht sogar Ersatzreligion. Sie kann gerade in Zeiten, in denen die westlichen Demokratien in der Krise sind, in denen viele Menschen das Vertrauen verloren haben, faktenresistent geworden sind oder Diskussionen mit Aggression statt Argumenten führen, einen besseren Weg aufzeigen.

Möchte man sich derzeit über die ständig wechselnden Corona-Verordnungen im kulturellen Bereich informieren, so fällt etwas Kurioses auf: Die Regelungen für Kultureinrichtungen findet man in den Sparten »Freizeit«, »Unterhaltung« oder sogar »Sport«. Ins Theater zu gehen ist damit – überspitzt formuliert – mit dem Besuch eines Clubs gleichgesetzt. Das wollte unter anderem die Berliner Kulturszene nicht auf sich sitzen lassen. In einem offenen Brief an Bürgermeister Michael Müller plädierte sie vergangenen November eindringlich dafür, mehr zu sein als »reine Freizeitangebote«. 


Wenn wir in die Oper, ins Konzert oder ins Theater gehen, werden wir nicht bloß unterhalten. In der Geste des Grafen Almaviva, der am Ende von Mozarts Oper »Le nozze di Figaro« vor seiner Frau niederkniet und um Verzeihung bittet, lernen wir, was es heißt, sich eigene Fehler einzugestehen und eine Entschuldigung von Herzen auszusprechen. Wenn Gretchen in Goethes »Faust« ihren Monolog »Meine Ruh ist hin« spricht, erkennen wir die Folgen einer unausgeglichenen Liebe. Die Kunst ist mehr als geselliger Zeitvertreib, sie erzählt von Menschen und vom Menschsein. Von grauenvollen Geschehnissen wie von paradiesischen Utopien. »Seid umschlungen, Millionen! Diesen Kuss der ganzen Welt!« Wie schön ist dieses Schiller-Zitat am Ende der 9. Sinfonie von Beethoven. In der Musik wird der Traum Realität: Wir freuen uns darüber, Mensch zu sein. Religion, Herkunft, Geschlecht – all das ist nicht bedeutend. Wir alle spüren den höchsten Götterfunken.


Wer einmal in den Genuss einer solchen kulturellen Erfahrung gekommen ist, weiß um die Relevanz der Kunst für die Welt. Kunst ist Bildung, in Kunst steckt Menschlichkeit, für manche ist Kunst vielleicht sogar Ersatzreligion. Sie kann gerade in Zeiten, in denen die westlichen Demokratien in der Krise sind, in denen viele Menschen das Vertrauen verloren haben, faktenresistent geworden sind oder Diskussionen mit Aggression statt Argumenten führen, einen besseren Weg aufzeigen.


Obgleich die Kultur auch in düsteren Lockdown-Zeiten Trost spenden kann, ist dieser Stellenwert in Deutschland aktuell allerdings wenig zu spüren. Der Konzertdesigner Folkert Uhde, Gast der diesjährigen Ludwigsburger Schlossfestspiele, bemerkt: »Das Hauptproblem in der Kultur besteht generell darin, dass wir für die allermeisten nicht besonders wichtig sind«. Die Konsequenzen daraus sind fatal für die Kunstschaffenden. Zur ohnehin vorhandenen Angst vor dem Virus kommen Gedanken, man sei als Sänger*in durch das Ausscheiden von Aerosolen plötzlich eine Gefahr für die Allgemeinheit, wie Anna Prohaska, Sopranistin bei den Schlossfestspielen in dieser Saison, berichtet. Noch schlimmer steht es um die finanziellen Sorgen und Nöte in der Branche. Wer nicht zu den gefeierten Stars zählt, wer keine Festanstellung besitzt oder wer gerade ins Berufsleben starten möchte, bleibt derzeit auf der Strecke. 


Hoffnung und Verantwortung

Doch wie soll man mit dieser Situation umgehen? Wir als Ludwigsburger Schlossfestspiele möchten zwei Prinzipien folgen: Hoffnung und Verantwortung. Es hilft nichts, die Corona-Krise kleinzureden. Man muss die Krankheit maximal ernst nehmen und verantwortungsbewusst reagieren. Dennoch sind Menschen am Ende immer dann erfolgreich, wenn sie Hoffnung und Optimismus wahren.


So schwer es auch erscheinen mag, aber Corona kann auch eine Chance bedeuten. Eine Chance dazu, neue Konzertformate zu etablieren und ein neues Publikum zu gewinnen. Einreisebeschränkungen zwingen uns damit aufzuhören, umweltschädigende Konzerttourneen zu fördern. Durch Kammermusikkonzerte in Höfen oder Aufführungen im Alters- oder Pflegeheim für die isolierten Risikogruppen konnte die Kunst an ungewohnte Orte gelangen. Prohaska erzählt, dass sie durch das Singen auf ihrem heimischen Balkon ihre Nachbarschaft besser kennenlernte.


Auch das Thema Digitalisierung spielt seit Corona eine noch wichtigere Rolle. Die Kultur muss auf diese Entwicklung Antworten finden. Streaming und Onlineformate müssen stärker genutzt werden. Das verlangt aber auch die Bereitschaft der Künstler*innen. Für Prohaska ist Konzert-Streaming das »Schlechteste aus beiden Welten«, da weder die editorische Freiheit der Studiosituation noch die Spannung einer Liveatmosphäre vor Publikum gegeben sei. Aller Anfang ist sicherlich schwer. Kaiser Wilhelm II. sagte einst: »Ich glaube an das Pferd. Das Automobil ist eine vorübergehende Erscheinung« – eine vorschnelle Einschätzung, wie wir heute wissen. 


»New Deal«

In diesem Sinne sollte man auch jetzt keine Angst vor Neuem haben. Folkert Uhde geht noch weiter und ist überzeugt, dass die Kultur einen »New Deal« benötigt. Das bedeutet: mehr Frauen in leitenden Funktionen, mehr Nachhaltigkeit, eine radikale Abkehr von der systematisierten Konzertdramaturgie sowie das Etablieren neuer Formate und Werke. Erste Schritte in diese Richtung gab es schon vor Corona, auch bei den großen, etablierten Häusern – ob nun durch Digital Concert Hall in der Berliner Philharmonie oder durch Programme für Demenzkranke an der Oper Köln. Und natürlich haben auch wir, die Ludwigsburger Schlossfestspiele, bereits vor Corona unseren Nachhaltigkeitskompass erarbeitet. 


Nachhaltigkeit leben

Die derzeitige Krise ist für uns alle eine große Herausforderung. Auch an den Ludwigsburger Schlossfestspielen ist Corona nicht spurlos vorbeigegangen. Planungssicherheit ist in diesen Zeiten unmöglich. Vieles ist nicht in gewünschter Weise realisiert worden. Der Resonanzraum, der 2020 ein Ort der Begegnungen werden sollte, konnte nicht wie geplant entstehen.


Wir lassen uns aber nicht entmutigen und gehen optimistisch in die Zukunft. Wir wollen nicht mehr nur als »Output-orientiertes System« funktionieren, wie es Philippe Bischof als Grundproblem der Kulturbranche erkannt hat. Wir wollen zeigen, dass beispielsweise ein Programmheft auch einen universelleren Stellenwert besitzt und am Ende der Saison kein Wegwerfprodukt ist. Dies ist nicht nur aus ökologischen Gründen wichtig, sondern ebenso, um die Arbeit derjenigen zu würdigen, die abseits des Rampenlichtes täglich ihr Bestes geben, um die Kultur in unserem Land voranzubringen. Wir wollen uns für Geschlechtergleichheit einsetzen und mehr Dirigentinnen fördern. Wir wollen auf die Veränderungen im digitalen Zeitalter Antworten finden und präsentieren unserem Publikum eine neue Website. Wir wollen, dass Kunst auch weiterhin live erlebt und als partizipatives Gemeinschaftserlebnis verstanden wird. Kurzum: Wir wollen, dass die 17 Nachhaltigkeitsziele für uns nicht nur eine vage Orientierung darstellen. Wir wollen sie leben.

Wir freuen uns sehr, Sopranistin Anna Prohaska und Konzertdesigner Folkert Uhde bei den diesjährigen Schlossfestspielen 2021 willkommen zu heißen, und empfehlen folgende weiterführende Artikel und Gespräche zum Thema »Kultur in Zeiten von Corona«:


Carolin Emcke (Autorin und Publizistin) im Gespräch mit Anna Prohaska, Thomas Kufus (Filmproduzent) und Stephan Behrmann (Dramaturg, Theaterwissenschaftler, Autor)


Folkert Uhde (Konzertdesigner) über den »New Deal« im Gespräch und im Kommentar


5 Thesen von Philippe Bischof (Direktor der Kulturstiftung Pro Helvetia) für eine bessere Zukunft der Kulturbranche


Anna Prohaska (Sopranistin) über das Singen im Lockdown