Ludwigs
Burg
Festival

»No More War«


WOLFGANG AMADEUS MOZART Piano Concerto No. 23 in A major, K. 488

Gustav Mahler Symphony no. 5


Orchestra of the Ludwigsburg Festival

Iddo Bar-Shaï Piano

Oksana Lyniv Musical Conduction

»The world is shocked. Art and music are silenced by grief. All moral values, all the European liberties, our entire cultural heritage and the developments of the past century have been destroyed – a new, terrible war has devoured one of Europe’s states.« The reaction of Ukrainian conductor Oksana Lyniv to the violence of war in her homeland stands for all the rage, grief and fear global society is experiencing. Now more than ever it is important for the arts and cultural scene to raise its voice after the long hiatus forced by the pandemic: »No more war!«


That is the motto of the »Fest Spiel Ouvertüre« opening the anniversary season of the Ludwigsburg Festival: an explicit concert for peace. Together with the Israeli pianist Iddo Bar-Shaï, Oksana Lyniv takes the stage again, leading an emotional programme offering the audience a world of consolation and hope while acknowledging the darker side of our existence, its pain and suffering.  Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart's Piano Concerto No. 23 in A major reminds us that nothing is more valuable than life. Particularly the second movement delves into a profound, yearning melancholy, only to re-emerge with virtuoso joyfulness. Gustav Mahler's Fifth Symphony also follows the direction of movement from melancholy to redemption: In a highly complex polyphonic weave, the plaintive funeral march at the beginning of the symphony finally develops into an uplifting finale, which, full of fervour, is the exclamation mark of this concert for peace.


Image © Oleh Pavliuchenkov

dates and tickets

Thu

5 May

2022

20:00

Approx. 2 hours incl. one break

Karten 38 ⁄ 48 ⁄ 66 ⁄ 78 ⁄ 89 € Festspielgäste in Ausbildung 15 €

Sponsored by

«Nigl Pashchenko Vanitas« on July 3 at the Order Hall +++ «Nigl Pashchenko Vanitas« on July 3 at the Order Hall +++ «Nigl Pashchenko Vanitas« on July 3 at the Order Hall +++ «Nigl Pashchenko Vanitas« on July 3 at the Order Hall +++ «Nigl Pashchenko Vanitas« on July 3 at the Order Hall +++ «Nigl Pashchenko Vanitas« on July 3 at the Order Hall +++

Ludwigs
Burg
Festival

»No More War«


WOLFGANG AMADEUS MOZART Klavierkonzert Nr. 23 A-Dur, KV 488

GUSTAV MAHLER Sinfonie Nr. 5 cis-Moll


Orchester der Ludwigsburger Schlossfestspiele

Iddo Bar-Shaï Klavier

Oksana Lyniv Musikalische Leitung

»Die Welt ist schockiert. Kunst, Musik muss in Trauer schweigen. Alle moralischen Werte, alle europäischen Freiheiten, unser gesamtes kulturelles Erbe und die Entwicklung des letzten Jahrhunderts wurden zerstört – ein neuer schrecklicher Krieg hat einen der europäischen Staaten verschlungen.« Die Reaktion der ukrainischen Dirigentin Oksana Lyniv auf die Kriegsgewalt in ihrer Heimat steht sinnbildlich für die ganze Wut, Trauer und Angst, die die globale Gesellschaft umtreibt. Gerade jetzt ist es so wichtig, dass die Kunst- und Kulturszene nach einer langen Zwangspause durch die Pandemie wieder ihre Stimme erhebt: »No More War«!

 

Mit diesem Motto eröffnet die »Fest Spiel Ouvertüre« die Jubiläumssaison der Ludwigsburger Schlossfestspiele als explizites Konzert für den Frieden mit dem israelischen Pianisten Iddo Bar-Shaï und dem Orchester der Schlossfestspiele. Am Pult steht erneut Oksana Lyniv und führt ein emotionales Programm an, das die Zuhörenden in eine Welt des Trostes und der Hoffnung, aber auch zur dunklen Seite unseres Daseins, zu Leid und Schmerz, führt. Daran, dass nichts höher zu schätzen ist als das Leben, erinnert Wolfgang Amadeus Mozarts Klavierkonzert Nr. 23 A-Dur. Besonders der zweite Satz taucht in eine tiefe, sehnsuchtsvolle Melancholie hinab, um dann mit virtuoser Freude wieder aufzutauchen. Auch die fünfte Sinfonie von Gustav Mahler folgt der Bewegungsrichtung von Schwermut gen Erlösung: In einem höchst vielschichtigen Polyphonie-Geflecht entwickelt sich aus dem klagenden Trauermarsch zu Beginn der Sinfonie schließlich ein erhebendes Finale, das voller Inbrunst das Ausrufezeichen dieses Friedenskonzertes darstellt.


Produktionsbild © Oleh Pavliuchenkov

Termine und Karten

Do

5. Mai

2022

20:00

Ca. 2 Stunden inkl. einer Pause

Karten 38 ⁄ 48 ⁄ 66 ⁄ 78 ⁄ 89 € Festspielgäste in Ausbildung 15 €

Gefördert durch

»Nigl Pashchenko Vanitas« am 3. Juli im Ordenssaal +++  »Nigl Pashchenko Vanitas« am 3. Juli im Ordenssaal +++  »Nigl Pashchenko Vanitas« am 3. Juli im Ordenssaal +++  »Nigl Pashchenko Vanitas« am 3. Juli im Ordenssaal +++  »Nigl Pashchenko Vanitas« am 3. Juli im Ordenssaal +++  »Nigl Pashchenko Vanitas« am 3. Juli im Ordenssaal +++