Ludwigs
Burg
Festival

Ludwigsburg Festival celebrates Beethoven

32 single films and 9 symphonies

With a revival of the »Pixelsinfonie« and the ARTE event »Europa feiert Beethoven« the Ludwigsburg Festival starts the month of June with a Beethoven Weekend. On World Environment Day the video installation by Michael Rauter based on the »Pastorale« reminds us of the relationship between humans and nature in 32 individual films. In the performance of all symphonies from nine European countries, the channel ARTE will take up Beethoven’s message of international understanding on Sunday.

To kick off June, the Ludwigsburg Festival invites you to a special Beethoven Weekend: with a revived »Pixelsinfonie« and a Beethoven marathon on ARTE. This promises not only musical highlights, but also interesting discourses on the great themes of our time. After all, Beethoven’s focus is always on the human being.


On World Environment Day, it is once again the »Pastorale«, which builds a bridge between humans and nature. As already shown in our »Fest Spiel Ouvertüre«, the »Pixel Symphony«, however, seeks a completely different approach to the work. In a video-installation of 32 simultaneously running single films blur the familiar sounds of the symphony with Michael Rauter’s progressive composition. With no option of fast-forwarding or rewinding the online installation by Peter Ulrich focuses instead on the full concentration on the 100-minute audiovisual experience. The concept developed in 2020 is at the same time indispensably tied to the Corona situation. Thus Rauter noted that the pandemic situation became the »content of the project«: »The virus has shown us, to the maximum, that the separation between humans and nature is an illusory notion.« Thus, the play becomes »an examination with ourselves.«


But it’s not just the »Pastorale« that speaks directly to the human condition. Beethoven’s other works also bear witness to this. His nine symphonies tell of the darkest hours of human behaviour, but also construct the utopia of a united world under powerful orchestral climaxes. This ideal is to be expressed with »Europa feiert Beethoven«: From nine different European countries, all nine symphonies will be performed in succession. This major event will be broadcast on ARTE and on our Digital Stage. Last but not least, you can look forward to the performance of the 7th symphony from Greece with Teodor Currentzis and his orchestra musicAeterna. Enriched by a dance choreography by Sasha Waltz, the performance already sets the mood for the rest of the season: With »Dialoge 2021 Ludwigsburg«, Waltz will also be performing at the festival this year.

Visit us on our open day at Palais Grävenitz! Saturday, February 24, 10 a.m. – 2 p.m. +++ Visit us on our open day at Palais Grävenitz! Saturday, February 24, 10 a.m. – 2 p.m. +++ Visit us on our open day at Palais Grävenitz! Saturday, February 24, 10 a.m. – 2 p.m. +++ Visit us on our open day at Palais Grävenitz! Saturday, February 24, 10 a.m. – 2 p.m. +++ Visit us on our open day at Palais Grävenitz! Saturday, February 24, 10 a.m. – 2 p.m. +++ Visit us on our open day at Palais Grävenitz! Saturday, February 24, 10 a.m. – 2 p.m. +++

Ludwigs
Burg
Festival

Die Schlossfestspiele feiern Beethoven

32 Einzelfilme und 9 Sinfonien

Mit einer Wiederaufnahme der »Pixelsinfonie« und dem ARTE-Event »Europa feiert Beethoven« starten die Schlossfestspiele via Beethoven-Wochenende in den Juni. Zum Umwelttag erinnert die auf der »Pastorale« beruhende Video-Installation von Michael Rauter in 32 Einzelfilmen an die Beziehung von Mensch und Natur. In der Darbietung aller Sinfonien aus neun europäischen Ländern greift der Kulturkanal ARTE am Sonntag wiederum Beethovens völkerverständigende Botschaft auf. 

Zum Juni-Auftakt laden die Ludwigsburger Schlossfestspiele zu einem besonderen Beethoven-Wochenende ein: mit wiederaufgenommener »Pixelsinfonie« und einem Beethoven-Marathon auf ARTE. Das verspricht nicht nur musikalische Höhepunkte, sondern ebenso interessante Diskurse mit den großen Themen unserer Zeit. Im Mittelpunkt steht bei Beethoven schließlich immer der Mensch.


Zum Umwelttag ist es einmal mehr die »Pastorale«, die eine Brücke zwischen Mensch und Natur ebnet. Zu hören bereits in unserer »Fest Spiel Ouvertüre«, sucht die »Pixelsinfonie« jedoch einen ganz anderen Zugang zum Werk. In einer Video-Installation von 32 simultan ablaufenden Einzelfilmen verschwimmen die bekannten Klänge der Sinfonie mit der progressiven Komposition von Michael Rauter. Dabei wurde bewusst auf die Option verzichtet, vor oder zurück zu spulen. Die Online-Installation von Peter Ulrich setzt vielmehr die volle Konzentration auf das 100-minütige audiovisuelle Erlebnis. Das 2020 entstandene Konzept ist gleichzeitig unabdingbar an die Corona-Situation gebunden. So stellte Rauter fest, dass die pandemische Lage zum »Inhalt des Projekts« wurde: »Das Virus hat uns maximal gezeigt, dass die Trennung zwischen Mensch und Natur eine illusorische Vorstellung ist.« Damit wird das Stück zur »Auseinandersetzung mit uns selbst«.


Doch nicht nur die »Pastorale« spricht das menschliche Wesen direkt an. Auch Beethovens weitere Werke zeugen davon. Seine neun Sinfonien erzählen von den dunkelsten Stunden menschlichen Verhaltens, konstruieren unter mächtigen orchestralen Höhepunkten aber ebenso die Utopie einer vereinten Welt. Dieses Ideal soll mit »Europa feiert Beethoven« zum Ausdruck gebracht werden: Aus neun verschiedenen europäischen Ländern erklingen nacheinander alle neun Sinfonien. Das Großevent wird auf ARTE sowie auf unsere Digitalen Bühne übertragen. Freuen Sie sich nicht zuletzt auf die Darbietung der 7. Sinfonie aus Griechenland mit Teodor Currentzis und dessen Klangkörper musicAeterna. Bereichert durch eine Tanz-Choreografie von Sasha Waltz stimmt die Aufführung bereits auf den weiteren Saisonverlauf der Schlossfestspiele ein: Mit »Dialoge 2021 Ludwigsburg« wird Waltz dieses Jahr auch vor Ort zu sehen sein.

Wenige Restkarten für »Anna Prohaska Klaviertrio« am 23. Juni erhältlich  + + +  Wenige Restkarten für »Anna Prohaska Klaviertrio« am 23. Juni erhältlich  + + +  Wenige Restkarten für »Anna Prohaska Klaviertrio« am 23. Juni erhältlich  + + +  Wenige Restkarten für »Anna Prohaska Klaviertrio« am 23. Juni erhältlich  + + +  Wenige Restkarten für »Anna Prohaska Klaviertrio« am 23. Juni erhältlich  + + +  Wenige Restkarten für »Anna Prohaska Klaviertrio« am 23. Juni erhältlich  + + +