JOHANNES BRAHMS »Ein deutsches Requiem« op. 45

1st movement »Selig sind, die da Leid tragen« & 2nd movement »Denn alles Fleisch, es ist wie Gras«
Version for soli, mixed choir and piano four hands, arranged by PHILIP MOLL

Rundfunkchor Berlin
Gijs Leenaars Conductor
Jochen Sandig Concept and direction
Philip Mayers, Angela Gassenhuber Piano

Ilka Seifert, Sasha Waltz Dramaturgy
Davide Camplani, Claudia de Serpa Soares Artistic collaboration
Brad Hwang Space
Jörg Bittner Light


Daniel Koppelkamm DOP/ Steadicam

Bettina Borgfeld Camera

Holger Schwark Sound

Luis Koppelkamm 1st Steadicam- Assistant

Kolja Seibold 1st camera assistant

Laura Jaburek 2nd camera assistant

Klaus-Peter Venn Head lighting technician

Gerhardt Philipp Lighting technician

Bobby Good Editing

Jan Schöningh Colour Grading

The installation was commissioned by the Office of the Federal President in the context of the Central Corona Commemoration on 18 April 2021. 

[This text has been translated electronically] In view of the devastating effects caused by Corona, the music of Brahms is particularly important right now. »Ein deutsches Requiem« attempts to overcome fears and suffering caused by death. It is not a requiem in the conventional sense, but music that gives comfort to the bereaved - as was the case at the Central Corona Commemoration in Berlin on 18 April 2021, where Jochen Sandig's staging of the first two movements was seen for the first time. In this staged film project of the »Human Requiem«, the Rundfunkchor Berlin under the musical direction of Gijs Leenaars offers hope and comfort in difficult times.

dates and tickets


14 May